newmont ghana

The process to choose a new Speaker of Parliament for the 7th Parliament commences on Monday as the 275 MPs register to enable them vote for the names that would be put forward.

According to a statement issued by the acting Public Affairs Director of Parliament, Kate Addo, the new MPs will be issued with identification cards that will “enable them to vote for the selection of a speaker and other officials of the 7th Parliament.”

The President elect, Nana Akufo-Addo is expected to nominate two persons for the speakership position and the first deputy speaker.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) will nominate their choice for the second Deputy Speaker’s position.

Professor Mike Ocquaye, Joe Ghartey, Papa Owusu-Ankomah and Freddie Blay are tipped to replace the current Speaker, Edward Doe Adjaho, who indicated that he was ready to leave.

Congratulating Akufo-Addo for winning the 2016 presidential race in the just ended December 7 polls he noted that his belongings were packed out of his office already.


Source: Ghana/ Awal