Parliament has rejected the 2022 budget statement and economic policy of the government following a walkout by NPP MPs.

Members on the Majority side of Parliament prior to the rejection of the budget by solely NDC MPs staged a walkout.

This followed a disagreement over a directive by the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, for non-MPs to vacate the Chamber.

The Majority MPs demanded that General Secretary of the NDC Johnson Asiedu Nketia who was seated in the public gallery leaves Parliament before they continue with the business of the House.

Mr Asiedu Nketia ignored their request which infuriated the Majority MPs who walked out of the Chamber, leaving only members on the Minority side.

The Speaker of Parliament thus suspended the sitting for five minutes after which the business of the day proceeded.

Parliament had also through a voice vote rejected a request by the Minister of Finance, Ken Ofori-Atta, to meet the leadership of the House before the approval of the 2022 budget.

Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin had earlier rejected an application from Finance Minister Ken Ofori-Atta to be afforded the opportunity to engage the leadership of both majority and minority members of the House ahead of the conclusion of debate on the 2022 budget and economic policy of the government.

Majority leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu who moved the application on behalf of Ken Ofori-Atta argued the move is to afford the minister the chance to address concerns of the minority on imposition of taxes such as the E-Levy in order to secure consensus.

Minority leader Haruna Iddrisu, however, prayed the speaker to be allowed to proceed with his concluding debate before the minister comes in.

The speaker ruled the minister can have the opportunity to state whatever brought him to parliament after the minority is done with his debate.

Haruna Iddrisu in his debate stated the minority will not approve the economic policy of government until the E-Levy is scrapped and allocations are made for phase two of the sea defence project in Keta.

Source: Ghana/