The National Peace Council (NPC) has urged Parliament to employ dialogue and consensus building with the current happenings in the House over the approval of the 2022 Budget.

In a statement seen by the NPC was emphatic on the potential of the happenings in Parliament on the peace and stability of the country.

Subsequently, the NPC had a separate meetings with both side in Parliament on Thursday December 2, 2021.

During the meetings, the NPC asked both sides to be calm, and the leaders were further urged to resort to dialogue and consensus building in resolving the impasse.

“Both the Majority and the Minority Leaders, Honorable Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu and Honorable Haruna Iddrisu in their responses, informed the Council, that both sides have made concessions and a committee of 20 members drawn from both sides have been set up to dialogue and possibly find a solution to the impasse as soon as practicable.

“The Council in pursuit of the above appeals to both sides of the House, to continue the path of dialogue in resolving the current impasse and those that may recur in the future,” the Chairman for the NPC, Rev Dr. Ernest Adu-Gyamfi who signed the statement pleaded

He also called on the media and all those who make statements on the matter, to exercise maximum restraint in their pronouncements to protect the peace, stability and the integrity in the country.

Meanwhile, Parliament has set up a 20-member mediation team to try and resolve the 2022 budget impasse.

The mediation team is made up of 10 MPs each from the Majority and Minority caucuses.

The team has also been tasked to find an amicable solution to matters that could be handled at the leadership level other than the floor of the house.

The team is expected to start work on Thursday, 2 December 2021.

The Majority caucus in Parliament on Tuesday, November 30, approved the 2022 Budget statement after the NDC MPs boycotted proceedings after failing to reach an agreement with the Majority over the status of the budget.

While the Majority insisted the rejection of the budget last Friday was unlawful, the Minority maintains the House followed due process in rejecting it.

A Series of meetings to resolve the standoff yielded no results as the majority and the Executive stood their grounds of not presenting a new budget.

All the 137 NDC MPs consequently boycotted today’s sitting without even registering their names in the attendance book.

Below is the list to resolve the 2022 budget impasse


Dan Botwe( Okere)
KT Hammond (Adansi Asokwa)
Patrick Boamah( Okaikwei Central)
Patricia Appiagyei( Asokwa)
Lydia Alhassan( MP, Ayawaso West Wuogon)
Alexander Afenyo Markin( MP, Effutu)
Habid Iddrisu( Tolon)
Frank Annor Dompreh ( Nsawam Addoagyir)
Joe Ghartey (Essikado/ Ketan)


Muntaka Mubarak ( Asawase )
Rockson Nelson Dafiamekpor (South Dayi)
Sam George( Ningo Prampram)
James Agalga( Builsa North)
Kwabena Mintah Akando( Juaboso)
Enerst Norgbey(Ashaiman)
Richard Acheampong( Bia East)
Ahmed Ibrahim (Banda)
Comfort Doyoe-Ghansah(Ada)

Source: Dzidzoamenu