Mamelodi Sundowns shot stopper, also the 2016 Glo CAF footballer of the year, Dennis Onyango makes the starting eleven after excelling at a late fitness test.

The right and left flank roles are occupied by Al Ahed right back Dennis Iguma (at the expense of Vipers Sports Club’s Nico Wakiro Wadada) and KCCA’s Joseph Ochaya respectively.

Newly signed Nejmeh Football Club (based in Lebanon) utility player, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, starts in the heart of defence alongside the tried and tested legs of Isaac Isinde, currently club-less.

Mawanda, usually employed as a defender and at times a midfielder is prefered in the slot of suspended Murushid Jjuuko.

It is a crowded midfield for team Uganda like it has always been with Mike Azira, Tonny Mawejje, William Luwagga Kizito and Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito.

Baroka midfielder Aucho Khalid is suspended out of the game due to accumulated cautions in the qualifiers.

Standard Liege live wire play maker, scorer of the lone strike that downed Comoros to earn Uganda Cranes a slot at AFCON 2017 starts too, and will offer the offensive options from the middle of the part.

It is a historic moment as team captain Geofrey Massa, who also, like Aucho plies his trade at South African side, Baroka walks out of the tunnel to inspire and aspire his troops on the field of play.

The substitutes’ bench is quite rich with a number of options available to cause an immediate impact once introduced.

Uganda Cranes XI: Dennis Onyango, Dennis Iguma, Joseph Ochaya, Isaac Isinde, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Tonny Mawejje, Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito, Michael Azira, Faruku Miya, William Luwaga Kizito, Geoffrey Massa (Captain)


Robert Odongkara (G.K), Yunus Junior Sentamu, Geofrey Sserunkuma, Moses Oloya, Nico Wadada Wakiro, Godfrey Walusimbi, Salim Omar Magoola (G.K), Timothy Dennis Awany, Muhammed Shaban, Shafiq Batambuze

Not available: Khalid Aucho, Murushid Juuko

Head coach: Milutin Sredojevic (Serbia)