Ken Ofori Atta - Minister of Finance
Ken Ofori Atta - Minister of Finance

The eight-member ad-hoc Committee set up by the Speaker of Parliament to probe allegations leveled against the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta will begin its sittings today, November 15, 2022.

The committee has 7 days to present its report after which a debate will be taken and Ken Ofori-Atta’s fate decided.

The Committee is co-chaired by KT Hammond, Adansi-Asokwa MP, and Dominic Ayine, Bolgatanga East MP.

Other members of the committee are Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings and Bernard Ahiafor from the Minority side, while Patrick Yaw Boamah, Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi and Andrew Agyapa Mercer constitute the group from the Majority side on the committee.

Meanwhile, the Member of Parliament for Ningo-Prampram, Sam Nartey George, wants sittings of the ad-hoc committee constituted to investigate the minority’s claims against Finance Minister to be televised.

“I want to make a plea that the sittings of the committee be telecast live given the nature of the matter and be made public just like the Sputnik V committee in the spirit of transparency and accountability,” he submitted in the House on Thursday.

Vote of censure

At least two-thirds of Parliament will have to vote in favour of the censure to have the Finance Minister removed.

This motion, if passed, will compel President Akufo-Addo to sack his Finance Minister.