EIB Network’s  News Presenter and multiple award-winning journalist, Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman has been penned among winners for the 27th Ghana Journalists Association Awards, set to take place on Sunday, October 29, 2023, at the  Accra International Conference Centre.

The flagship annual event of the GJA is meant to celebrate professional excellence, with awards in 34 competitive categories up for grabs.

 This year’s awards’ theme is,“Leveraging media freedom to sustain the democratic and security architecture: The litmus test of Election 2024”

 Betty Apau-Oppon, Chairperson of the GJA Awards Committee, announcing the nominees at a press conference, in Accra, on Wednesday, said the Committee received 276 entries including 15 entries from student journalists.

She indicated that the Committee selected the best entries which ticked key areas such as captivating headlines, good intros, multiple sourcing and interviews, coherent presentations, verified facts and data references, excellent language, balanced work.

“In the end, what we have is a reflection of the output of journalists and media houses across the year 2022,” she said.

The President of the GJA, Albert Kwabena Dwumfour, expressed his appreciation for the dedication of all the nominees to the field of media practice and their ability to convey highly impactful stories.

He noted their demonstration of social responsibility, a fundamental aspect of journalism, through their outstanding work.

EIB’s Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman,  a multiple Pulitzer Centre grantee known for his work in science, global health, racism, and sustainable development, has reported from various countries, including India, Rwanda,Thailand, and Sierra Leone. His reporting covers a wide range of health inequities, including issues faced by minority groups in Ghana, the financial challenges of sexual assault survivors seeking justice, climate change’s impact in Africa, and the unequal global supply of life-saving medications.

Dini-Osman’s accolades include the Eric and Wendy Schmidt Award for Excellence in Science Communications, a 2023 Atlantic Fellow for Health Equity at the George Washington University, the 2021 US National Press Foundation Covering Rare Diseases Fellow, and the 2022 Falling Walls Science Journalism Fellow in Germany. He also received the 2018 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize from the European Commission and awards for environmental and climate change reporting in 2020 and 2022 from the Pan-African Climate Justice Alliance (PACJA). In 2021, he was honoured with the International Center for Journalists’ Global Health Crisis Award for COVID-19 reporting. He was named Ghana’s 2017 Best Reporter in Development Journalism and received the 2016 Best Journalist Award in Rural Reporting and 2021 Best Radio News Reporter Award  from the Ghana Journalists Association.

Ridwan holds a bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies from the Ghana Institute of Journalism.

The 27th GJA Awards is expected to host over a thousand attendees, including Ministers of State, Members of Parliament, diplomats, media partners, corporate representatives, and journalists.

The ceremony will be chaired by Rev Dr. Ernest Adu Gyamfi, Chairman of the National Peace Council, with a keynote address by Mrs. Jean Mensa, Chairperson of the Electoral Commission.

Guests of honour include the Minister for Information, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, the Chairman of the National Media Commission, Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafo, and the U.S. Ambassador to Ghana, H.E. Virginia E. Palmer.

This year’s Awards promise a unique departure from the late-night format of previous editions.

Here is the list of nominees for the 27th Ghana Journalists Association Awards:

Anthony Adongo Apubeo – GNA

Beatrice Senadju – GBC

Della Russel Ocloo – Daily Graphic

Vivian Adu – Atinka Media

Joyfm/Joy News

Fred Duhoe – CitiTV

Akua Oforiwa Darko – GBC

Gifty Adjei – GBC

Alberto Mario Noretti – The Mirror

Seth Bokpe – The Fourth Estate

Emma Davies – MultiMedia Group

Mohammed Fugu – Daily Graphic

Kweku Bolton – GBC

Francisca Enchil – Freelance, via Joynews

Edward Adeti – The Fourth Estate/Media without Borders

Erastus Asare Donkor – Multimedia Group

Emmanuel Dzivenu – Joy Prime

Eric Mensah-Ayettey – Myjoyonline

Efia Akese – The Mirror

Kester Aburam Korankye – Daily Graphic

Daily Graphic

Atinka Media

Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman – EIB network

Felix Dela Klutse – Pent Media Centre

Neta Kris Abiana Parsram – Multimedia Group

Doreen Ampofo – GBC

Godwin Asediba – Media General

Collincia Ayifa – Student journalist via Multimedia Group


Source: Ghana/Starrfm.com.gh/103.5FM