File Photo

President Akufo-Addo has nominated three more justices to Ghana’s Supreme Court.

Justice Henry Anthony Kwofie, Justice of appeal, Justice Yaw Asare Darko, justice of appeal and Justice Richard Agyei Frimpong justice of appeal have all been elevated to Justices of the Apex Court of the land.

The trio is expected to replace Supreme Court justices due for retirement. In a communication to parliament read by first deputy speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu, President Akufo-Addo argued the nominations are in line with dictates of all the relevant laws in the country.

The Bekwai MP subsequently referred the nominees to the committee he chairs; the Appointment Committee for vetting.

There are currently 12 justices at the Supreme Court as follows;

1. Her Ladyship Justice Gertrude Araba Esaaba Sackey Torkornoo – Chief Justice

2.           His Lordship Justice Paul Baffoe Bonnie

3.           His Lordship Justice Gabriel Pwamang

4.           Her Ladyship Justice Mariama Owusu

5.           Her Ladyship Justice Avril Lovelace Johnson

6.           His Lordship Justice Issifu  Omoro  Tanko  Amadu

7.           Her Ladyship Justice Prof. Henrietta Joy Abena Nyarko Mensa-Bonsu

8.           His Lordship Justice Emmanuel Yonny Kulendi

9.           Her Ladyship Justice Barbara F. Ackah Yensu

10.         His Lordship Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu-Asiedu

11.         His Lordship Justice George Kingsley Koomson

12.         His Lordship Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu

Source: Ghana/ Alhassan