Cynthia Morrison, the current Member of Parliament (MP) for Agona West, lost in the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary primary on Saturday, April 13.

The MP had 152 votes, while Christopher Arthur led with 240 votes to become the party’s Parliamentary Candidate.

The primary took place at Otabilkrom Astroturf in Agona Swedru.

Ben Yamoah followed closely with 221 votes, Yawson Otoo secured 168 votes, and Joseph Afrankwa received 155 votes.

Cynthia Morrison, who has served two terms as a Member of Parliament, first won the seat in the 2016 parliamentary election for the area.

Source: Ghana/